Related Information

Vision and Mission
Institutional Framework
The Northern Corridor Transit Agreement
Mandate and Objectives
Stakeholders Forum
Contact Us


The Northern corridor is the transport corridor linking the land locked countries of Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi with Kenya’s maritime port of Mombasa. Similarly, the Northern Corridor serves Eastern part of the Democratic Republic of Congo, Southern Sudan and Northern Tanzania. Thus, Northern Corridor infrastructure connects all the five countries of the East African Community and beyond. Figure 1 below shows the location map of the Northern Corridor.

Northern Corridor Map

Because of their heavy reliance of the Northern Corridor for their overseas trade, as well as the trade among themselves, Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda are contracting parties to the Northern Corridor Agreement. The Agreement provides the legal framework for collaboration among these countries on matters to do with transit transport; customs control; documentation and procedures; as well as the development of infrastructure and facilities relating to sea ports, inland ports and waterways, roads, railways, pipelines and border posts.

The Northern Corridor is a multi-modal corridor, encompassing road, rail, pipeline and inland waterways transport. The main road network runs from Mombasa Sea Port through Kenya and Uganda to Kigali in Rwanda, Bujumbura in Burundi and to Kisangani in the Democratic Republic of Congo. The road network also links Kenya and Uganda to Juba in South Sudan. The rail network runs from Mombasa Sea Port through Nairobi, Malaba, and Kampala to Kasese in Western Uganda, close to the border with the Democratic Republic of Congo. A branch line radiates from Nakuru to Kisumu on Lake Victoria, from where rail wagon ferries link the system to Port Bell in Kampala. Another rail branch line runs from Tororo in eastern Uganda to Pakwach in Northern, from where river steamers used to provide links with Nimule in South Sudan. The oil pipeline runs from Mombasa through Nairobi and Nakuru to Kisumu and Eldoret in western Kenya, from where the land locked countries access their fuel imports.