Related Information

Vision and Mission
Institutional Framework
The Northern Corridor Transit Agreement
Mandate and Objectives
Stakeholders Forum
Contact Us

Institutional Framework

The institution responsible for the management of the Northern Corridor is referred to as the Northern Corridor Transit and Transport Coordination Authority (NCTTCA). The Authority’s three key organs comprise the Council of Ministers, the Executive Board and the Executive Secretariat. In addition there are Specialized Technical Committees as illustrated in Figure 2.

Northern Corridor Authority Structure

The Council of Ministers comprising Ministers responsible for transportation matters in each of the contracting States is the top most policy organ of the Authority. It is the policy making body of the NCTTCA and its decisions are binding on all contracting parties. Below the Council of Ministers is the Executive Committee. This is an inter-governmental Committee composed of Permanent Secretaries or their equivalents that are responsible for transport matters in each of the contracting states. The Executive Committee is primarily responsible for initiating general principles and policies governing the NCTTCA, as well as strategies for transport and trade facilitation, infrastructure development; and, harmonization of national policies. The Executive Committee is also the organ responsible for resourcing the Secretariat, in terms of human and financial resources, and the supervision of the Secretariat 

The executing organ of the NCTTCA is the Permanent Secretariat. It is based in Mombasa and it is responsible for coordinating implementation of the Northern Corridor Agreement and any other decisions and resolutions made by the Council of Ministers and the Executive Board.

A number of Specialized Committees have been put in place to synthesize and make appropriate recommendations to the Executive Committee. These are: (1) Private-Public Partnership Committee; (2) Committee on Infrastructure Development and Management; (3) Committee on Transport Policy and Planning; and (4) Committee on Customs and Transit Facilitation.